TOUS-1 grand.jpeg

À propos

At the crossroads of Inuit and Mongolian throat singing, Oktoecho (Montreal) and Orchid Ensemble (Vancouver) propose an updated reading of free trade through the language of music. 

This mixed-media concert brings together Inuit, Mongolian, Chinese, Japanese, European and Arabic music. Katajjaq and khoomei are ancestral throat singing techniques that reproduce the sounds heard in nature: flowing water, blowing wind, mountain echoes, bird calls... They are also major themes in traditional Chinese music.
 

Katajjaq & Khoomei

« Inuit & Mongolian throat singing encounter  »  

Katajjaq&Khoomei.png
Artists

Oktoecho

Katia Makdissi Warren - artistic director, composition et oud

Lydia Etok - artistic director and inuit throat singing (katajjaq)

Caroline Novalinga - inuit throat singing (katajjaq)

Michel Dubeau - shakuachi, duduk, suhling, futujara et bass clarinet

Bertil Schulrabe - percussions

Didem Basar - kanun 

Khalil Moqadem - oud

Orchid Ensemble

Lan Tung - artistic director, composition et ehru

Dailin Hsieh - zheng/Chinese zither 

Jonathan Bernard - percussions

Khoomei

Anand Arvimed - mongolian throat signing

orchid ensemble.png

Founded in 1997, the JUNO-nominated Orchid Ensemble is considered "one of the most adventurous groups bringing together Eastern and Western musical traditions" (Georgia Straight). The ensemble has embraced a wide variety of styles in its repertoire, ranging from Taiwanese and Chinese music to world music, new music and creative improvisation. Its highly acclaimed interdisciplinary productions merge music, dance (contemporary, aerial, flamenco, Chinese...etc), visual arts and media arts. The ensemble collaborates with artists from different genres, exploring new terrain and breaking boundaries. 

Anand Avirmed is a 21-year-old Mongolian musician born in Washington DC. Since his youth, Anand has performed traditional Mongolian folk music at many cultural events. As he grew up, his desire to expand his musical knowledge and understanding of all Mongolian cultures, from the Kalmyks in the west to the Yakuts in the north, and everything in between, strengthened his knowledge and understanding of his great heritage. Anand also plays a wide range of musical instruments from Mongolia, Central and Western Asia, including the morin khuur, tovshuur, doshpoluur, igil, guitar, jew's harp, piano and bass guitar.

Videos

Crédit photo : Diane Smithers

Photos

Lydia-Caroline-3.jpg
Orchid_Oktoecho June 2022 by Diane Smithers.jpg
Tous-13.jpg
Anand-1.jpg
Khalil-Michel.jpg
Daelin-1.jpg
Michel-Lydia.jpg

TOUS-1 grand.jpeg

À propos

À la croisée des chants de gorge inuit et mongol, Oktoecho (Montréal) et Orchid Ensemble (Vancouver) proposent une lecture actualisée du libre-échange par le langage de la musique. 

 

Ce concert métissé croise la musique inuite, mongole, chinoise, japonaise, européenne et arabe. Le katajjaq et le khoomei sont des techniques ancestrales de chant guttural qui reproduisent les sons entendus dans la nature : l'eau qui coule, le vent qui souffle, les échos des montagnes, les cris des oiseaux... Ce sont aussi des thèmes majeurs de la musique traditionnelle chinoise.

  

 Projet Katajjaq & Khoomei

« À la rencontre des chants de gorge inuit & mongol »  

Katajjaq&Khoomei.png

Artistes

Oktoecho

Katia Makdissi Warren - direction artistique, composition et oud

Lydia Etok - direction artistique et chant de gorge inuit (katajjaq)

Caroline Novalinga - chant de gorge inuit (katajjaq)

Michel Dubeau - shakuachi, duduk, suhling, futujara et clarinette basse

Bertil Schulrabe - percussions

Didem Basar - kanun 

Khalil Moqadem - oud

Orchid Ensemble

Lan Tung - direction artistique, composition et ehru

Dailin Hsieh - zheng/Chinese zither 

Jonathan Bernard - percussions

Khoomei

Anand Arvimed - chant de gorge mongol 

orchid ensemble.png

Fondé en 1997, l'Orchid Ensemble, nominé aux JUNO, est considéré comme «l'un des groupes les plus aventureux réunissant les traditions musicales orientales et occidentales» (Georgia Straight). L'ensemble a adopté une grande variété de styles dans son répertoire, allant de la musique taïwanaise et chinoise à la musique du monde, en passant par la nouvelle musique et l'improvisation créative. Ses productions interdisciplinaires très appréciées fusionnent la musique, la danse (contemporaine, aérienne, flamenco, chinoise...etc), les arts visuels et les arts médiatiques. L'ensemble collabore avec des artistes de différents genres, explorant de nouveaux terrains et brisant les frontières. 

Anand Avirmed est un musicien mongol de 21 ans, né à Washington DC. Depuis sa jeunesse, Anand a joué de la musique folklorique traditionnelle mongole lors de nombreux événements culturels. En grandissant, son désir d'élargir ses connaissances musicales et sa compréhension de toutes les cultures mongoles, des Kalmouks à l'ouest aux Yakoutes au nord, et tout ce qui se trouve entre les deux, a renforcé sa connaissance et sa compréhension de son grand héritage. Anand joue aussi sur un large éventail d'instruments de musique de Mongolie, d'Asie centrale et de l'Ouest, notamment le morin khuur, le tovshuur, le doshpoluur, l'igil, la guitare, la guimbarde, le piano et la guitare basse.

Aperçu

Crédit photo : Diane Smithers

Photos

Lydia-Caroline-3.jpg
Orchid_Oktoecho June 2022 by Diane Smithers.jpg
Tous-13.jpg
Anand-1.jpg
Khalil-Michel.jpg
Daelin-1.jpg
Michel-Lydia.jpg