Les Grands Espaces

I imagined this music especially for you, the youth, and I give it to you as an invitation to bring you into a vast expanse. Everyone in Canada knows the great plains, the lived-in mountains, the immense lakes, the river, the sea…But in the North, there are also ice fields as far as the eye can see, which you will discover with me.

For the past few years, I have been blessed with the opportunity to work with inuit throat singers, who have become a great source of inspiration. Nature and lullabies permeate almost all inuit music. You can therefore notice in this spacious music an echo of the lullabies of my inuit friends blending with the wind, the rain, the clucking of geese and the hooting of owls. Let yourself be transported into faraway lands of ice and wind!”

Katia

School project initiated by the SMCQ (Société de Musique Contemporaine du Québec) in collaboration with Oktoecho.

 

The SMCQ has commissioned a choral work from Katia Makdissi-Warren for the Québec schools. The composer has taken the opportunity to write a musical work inspired by inuit throat singing, so she can share the love she holds for this culture with the youth at large.

choralie 2019 Nancy.jpg
photo Katia choralies crédit Nina Segalowitz.jpg

Similar to inuit throat singing, “Les Grands Espaces” imitates nature. It is a playful piece that stimulate creation, while simultaneously learning about inuit throat singing.

When possible, this work is performed with inuit throat singers. If this is not possible, the work lends itself well to being sung by a choir without the throat singers.

It is also possible to perform it live during a concert or an event, to introduce people to inuit culture.

Partners

SMCQ_logo_noir.png
CSSDM_logo.png
École des jeunes.png

Les Grands Espaces

« J’ai imaginé cette musique spécialement pour vous, les jeunes, et je vous l’offre comme une invitation à vous transporter dans de grandes étendues. Tout le monde connaît, au Canada, les vastes plaines, les montagnes inhabitées, les lacs immenses, le fleuve, la mer… Mais dans le Nord, il y a aussi des champs de glace à perte de vue que j’aimerais vous faire découvrir.

Depuis plusieurs années, j’ai la chance de travailler avec des chanteuses de gorge inuites qui m’ont beaucoup inspirée. Toutes les musiques inuites, ou presque, sont imprégnées de la nature et des berceuses. Vous pourrez donc deviner dans cette musique pleine d’espace, comme un écho des berceuses de mes amis Inuits qui se mêlent au vent, à la pluie, aux cris des oies et des hiboux. Laissez-vous transporter dans les contrées lointaines de glace et de vent! »

 

Katia

Projet scolaire initié par la Société de Musique Contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ) et en collaboration avec Oktoécho.

 

La SMCQ a commandé une œuvre chorale à Katia Makdissi-Warren pour les écoles du Québec. La compositrice en a profité pour composer une pièce inspirée du chant de gorge inuit afin de partager avec les jeunes l’amour qu’elle porte à cette culture.

choralie 2019 Nancy.jpg
photo Katia choralies crédit Nina Segalowitz.jpg

À l’instar du chant de gorge inuit, « les Grands Espaces » imite la nature. C’est une pièce ludique qui offre des idées de création avec les jeunes tout en apprenant sur le chant de gorge inuit.

 

Si cela est possible, la pièce est interprétée avec des chanteuses de gorge inuites. Si ce n’est pas possible, la pièce se chante également en chorale sans les chanteuses de gorge.

 

Il est également possible de la pérsenter en direct lors d’un concert ou d’un événement pour initier à la culture inuite.

Partenaires

SMCQ_logo_noir.png
CSSDM_logo.png
École des jeunes.png